Ayla Iridag elected president of the Scottish Young Lawyers’ Association

Ayla Iridag elected president of the Scottish Young Lawyers' Association

Ayla Iridag

Ayla Iridag has been elected president of the Scottish Young Lawyers’ Association, following the organisation’s AGM this week.

Ms Iridag is a litigation solicitor at Clyde & Co in Edinburgh and has been a member of the SYLA committee since 2016.

Alongside Ms Iridag, Chiara Pieri of Shepherd and Wedderburn was elected a vice-president, Laila Kennedy, a law student at the University of Aberdeen was elected treasurer and Claire Paterson of Slater and Gordon was made secretary.

Jessica Weir (Pinsent Masons) will remain on the committee as past president. Graham Gibson (Clydesdale Bank) and Megan Lukins (MacRoberts) return to the non-executive committee for another year.

The committee also welcomed new non-executive members Amina Amin (Moss & Kelly), Natalie Bennett (Harper MacLeod), Lynsey Reid (Burness Paull), Antonia Welsh (Clyde & Co) and Patricia Taylor (DWF).

Ms Iridag said: “I’m honoured to have been elected president of the SYLA. We have new and exciting events planned for the coming year and I look forward to building on our recent successes.

“I’d take this opportunity to thank Jessica Weir and the outgoing committee for all their efforts and to welcome the new committee, with whom I’m looking forward to working over the next 12 months.”

Share icon
Share this article:

Related Articles