SYLA elects Jessica Weir as president and welcomes new committee

SYLA elects Jessica Weir as president and welcomes new committee

Jessica Weir

Jessica Weir, a banking and finance solicitor at Brodies has been elected president of the Scottish Young Lawyers’ Association for 2018-19 following its AGM last night.

The executive committee now comprises Jessica Weir as president, Ayla Iridag (Clyde & Co) as vice president, Graham Gibson (Clydesdale & Yorkshire Bank) as secretary and Dominique McErlane (Brodies) as treasurer.

Lucy Thornton (Anderson Strathern LLP) remains on the committee as past president. The following were elected as non-executive committee members: Ilaria Moretti (Anderson Strathern); Laila Kennedy (LLB student, University of Aberdeen); Lucy Deakin (Brodies); Chiara Pieri (Digby Brown); Jamie Russell (DWF); Megan Lukins (MacRoberts LLP) and Claire Paterson (Slater and Gordon).

Ms Weir said: “I am absolutely delighted to have been elected as president of the SYLA for the coming year. 2017-18 was another successful year for SYLA and I am looking forward to continuing these efforts over the next year.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank Lucy Thornton for all of her hard work and enthusiasm during her time on the committee and as president over the last year. Thanks also to the outgoing committee members for all of their help during their time on the committee.”

Share icon
Share this article: