Sheriff Appeal Court appointments confirmed

Mhairi Stephen QC

The Lord President has confirmed the appointment of Sheriff Principal Mhairi Stephen QC as the President of the new Sheriff Appeal Court and Sheriff Principal Craig Scott QC as Vice President.

It has also been confirmed that retired Sheriffs Principal Alastair Dunlop QC and Brian Lockhart are among those to be appointed by the Lord President to the new judicial office of Appeal Sheriff created by the Courts Reform (Scotland) Act 2014.

The other appointments to the office of Appeal Sheriff are Sheriff Paul Arthurson QC, Sheriff John Beckett QC, Sheriff Peter Braid, Sheriff Alasdair MacFadyen, Sheriff Kenneth Maciver, Sheriff John Morris QC, Sheriff Nigel Morrison QC, Sheriff Sean Murphy QC, Sheriff Michael O’Grady QC and Sheriff Nikola Stewart QC.

The appointments are effective for a period of five years.

Share icon
Share this article: