Nine new solicitor advocates welcomed

Nine new solicitor advocates welcomed

The Law Society of Scotland has welcomed nine new solicitor advocates yesterday, joining the 16 who were introduced last week.

Law Society of Scotland president, Sheila Webster, invited Lord Braid to administer the declaration of allegiance to the solicitor advocates at the ceremony held at the Court of Session yesterday.

The new solicitor advocates are:

  • Anna Chisholm, COPFS
  • Rosanna Chapman, COPFS
  • Roshni Joshi, COPFS
  • Vishnu Kathuria, COPFS
  • Alistair McDermid, COPFS
  • Jennifer McLaren, COPFS
  • Luke O’Curry, Airdrie Legal Chambers Ltd
  • Gail Russell, Virgil M Crawford
  • Naomei Warner, COPFS

Ms Webster said: “It’s a pleasure to be back in the court to celebrate the achievements of our nine new solicitor advocates. It’s encouraging to start the year with 25 new solicitor advocates gaining extended rights of audience as demand for the course remains strong.

“It truly is a highlight of my presidency to mark the fantastic work of our profession, and each solicitor advocate should be proud of this career milestone.

“Amongst those introduced to the court is Law Society Council member Luke O’Curry, Criminal Law Committee member Gail Russell, and former Law Society Council member Roshni Joshi. Congratulations on balancing a demanding workload whilst completing the rigorous assessments, exams, and training.”

Share icon
Share this article: