New chair and board members take up SCCR posts

New chair and board members take up SCCR posts

Two board members and a new chair have taken up their posts at the Scottish Criminal Cases Review Commission (SCCR), the organisation that looks into alleged miscarriages of justice.

New chair, Bill Matthews, is a former senior executive with Motorola who subsequently spent a number of years in the Small and Medium Enterprise (SME) sector before becoming a non-executive director. A chartered engineer and member of the Chartered institute of Marketing, he holds an MBA together with first degrees in electronics/ electrical engineering, humanities and psychology.

He first served as a non-executive director in the Scottish government, including six years as audit chair in the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service. Mr Matthews gained further experience of the criminal justice system via a position on the board of Scottish Police Authority and through his membership of the British Transport Police Authority.

Elaine Noad OBE has spent most of her career in local government, with her last post as director of social work housing and health with South Ayrshire Council. Since that time she has served on several boards and committees including the Scottish Solicitors’ Disciplinary Tribunal, the Parole Board, and

the Mental Welfare Commission for Scotland.

She brings knowledge and experience of the criminal justice system developed during her career in local government and serving on the boards of public bodies.

Raymond McMenamin was admitted as a solicitor in 1982. He trained at the Crown Office and subsequently worked as a procurator fiscal depute at Linlithgow and Glasgow. He has over thirty years’ experience in private practice and has been a senior partner of KW Law, West Lothian since 1997.

He has extensive experience in criminal law, having qualified as a solicitor advocate In 2000 with rights of Audience in the High Court of Justiciary. He was appointed as a part-time sheriff in 2007 and as a shrieval convener of the Mental Health Tribunal for Scotland in 2015. He was a member of the Law Society of Scotland’s criminal law sub-committee from 2004 to 2016 and president of the part-time Sheriffs’ Association from 2013 to 2016.

Share icon
Share this article: